Kyousougiga with Yumiko Igarashi eyes

Yase from the TV anime KYOUSOUGIGA. Sparklyyy!!!

While watching the new TV-anime KYOUSOUGIGA last year and after seeing the character Yase, I couldn’t stop thinking about where I have seen these kind of eyes before. They seemed to be a reference to typical shojo manga eyes from the 70s and 80s mainly, for sure. But these eyes embody a very specific style of shojo manga that I couldn’t quite grasp white exactly it was.

Now I know it has a name: Yumiko Igarashi. Her manga a truely the embodiment of what we would call truely purely shojo manga. Some of her most famous titles ar GEORGIE and CANDY CANDY.

Yumiko Igarashi CANDY CANDY

And the huge eyes of the characters with the iris covering almost all of the eyeball and almost more sparkles and reflections then you see of the eyes pupil certainly gave me a chill when I was small, somewhere between amazingly sweet and totally creepy.

I’m not sure if other people feel the same about these eyes but Yase from KYOUSOUGIGA seems to perfectly embody these ambivalent feelings, sometimes truely lady like and vers sweet and the next moment turning into a uncontroled monster smashing everything to small pieces around her.

Sparklyygggrowl! Yase from KYOUSOUGIGA

Leave a comment