Hokusai animated and extinct animators

On one of my strolls through Youtubia (while I was supposed to be doing something more productive) I landed on Tony White’s channel.

I want to pick out two of the videos I found there because they really deserve being mentioned.

One is on the life and work of Hokusai, most famous for his woodblock prints. The narration is accompanied by beautifully animated prints and drawings of Hokusai. I myself have once started animating a drawing of Hokusai taken out of the book HOKUSAI MANGA and I was trying to recreate the characteristics of the line created by the print.

The other one is called ENDANGERED SPECIES and tells you about the advent and golden age of animation in an analogy. It might glorify Walt Disney a bit too much and the view on modern technology and modern animation resulting out of that technology might be a bit too pessimistic. But at least the video manages to acknowledge some hope for the fure of animation in thelast of the last bit. The video is nice to watch though, also because the animation is just simply well crafted.

Tony White has published several books which might interst the one or the other of professional animators or interested reader. A link to one of his books on another new website I found by focal press with a wide choice of books on animation, games etc…

Leave a comment